This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

COVID-19: Temporary Restriction on Non-Essential Travel to the EU



COVID-19: Temporary Restriction on Non-Essential Travel to the EU

COVID-19: Temporary restriction of non-essential travels from third countries to the EU area. Guidelines approved by the European Council.
Temporary restrictions of travelers arriving from the external borders of the European Union aim at drastically reducing Covid-19 transmission by slowing the flow of incoming people and discouraging outgoing travel of the EU citizens and other persons residing in the EU + area (Schengen counties - Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania included - and Schengen Associated States).

Starting from March 18th for 30 days travelers coming from third countries cannot enter European Union. Temporary travel restriction does not apply to EU members States and Schengen Associated States nationals, their families and to third-country nationals who are long term residents or who hold long-term visas.

It also do not apply to other travelers with an essential function or need, including:

- healthcare professionals, health researchers and elderly care professionals;

- frontier workers

- transport personnel engaged in haulage of goods and other transport staff to the extent necessary;

- diplomats, staff of International Organizations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers in the exercise of their function;

- passengers in transit;

- passengers traveling for imperative family reasons;

- persons in need of international protection or for other humanitarian reasons.

To those traveling to Italy for any reason we remind that starting from March 17th to March 30th a 14 day quarantine period upon arrival will be required.